How to draw in Notion with an iPad

Yemeen
3 min readJun 11, 2022

Notion is a flexible and powerful note-taking tool that allows you to embed almost any piece of media into your work. Unfortunately, Notion doesn’t offer native stylus support. Thankfully due to the app’s flexibility, there are many workarounds! We’ll discuss some of them and ways to effectively use this feature.

As a mathematics student, the need for pictures is immense when understanding often abstract concepts. They provide a way for me to check my understanding and ensure I won’t easily forget an idea. So when I saw Notion supported KaTeX but not native drawing, I knew I would have to find a workaround. My first method was naïve but worked and many people still use it.

Screenshot Method

This is the default method for many on iPads. You draw your image on the app of choice, then screenshot/export it to the desired page. Below I illustrate this using the app Notability.

This method gets the job done and is free, but it’s not very elegant. It is also prone to…

--

--

Yemeen

Mathematician into data science, programming, and learning.